Skip to content

Word-Eating Monster

August 1, 2011

This poem is a) intense, b) the first in a series and c) meant to be read out loud at a fast pace, but you can just read it too. Enjoy!

The Word-Eating Monster Introduces Itself

why does it hurt so much?

I am the word-eating monster.

Gather your children, your poets, your rhymes and I’ll take them, take them and leave nothing behind

I’m a soul-sucking sociopath: I take what I want and leave the rest out to dry

Come feed me, my lovers, Come feed me, you saints with words of bounty and don’t scarce the ink.

For I am the word-eating monster.

Come climb up my glass-shard mountain, you would-be poets,

Follow your Lorca, airlift yourself with cliches (though you won’t get very far that way)!

‘til you bleed and bleed and all the glass rubies.

And it hurts and it hurts and it hurts.

But here’s words to heal you, ha!  Make it all alright until the wound is reopened and then you might as well put lemon juice on it for what good it will do you.

For I am tHe WoRd-EaTiNg MoNsTeR

No one’s been to the top neither prophet nor priest! (But Shakespeare was close to say the least)

And you’ll never get there, but yet you try! Feed me and Feed me your poems and lies

Your dreams and wishes, your drabbles of faith, your fiction your memoir your encounters with fate!

I’ll take them all.

For I am the word-eating monster.

I need it to survive!

That little space, that tiny crack between illusion and reality so minuscule but so very…

hungry.

Come, I’ll swallow you whole.  Come, I’ll swallow your soul.  Come, I’ll swallow.

And in that dark space there’s only the light you create.

Pen the word “fire”

And you’ll be blazing

Pen the word “water”

And you’ll be drowning

Pen the word “love”

and you’ll be both.

So come and I’ll spin you, come and I’ll turn you, come and I’ll twist you

upside down and backwards, forwards diagonal sideways north east south west

spinspinspinspin until you don’t know what’s real and what’s right and what’s wrong and what’s all in your head.

And it hurts it hurts it hurts

Curses the blessing and blessing the curse

(the only safe form of schizophrenia out there)

For I am the word-eating monster.

I am never satisfied.

From → Poetry

2 Comments
  1. Linda Cannon permalink

    Dreamy! I like the “work in progress”

  2. Hillary Shipps permalink

    Hello, it’s the invisible ninja cat. This is made of amazingness.

    Favorite awesome lines:
    “Gather your children, your poets, your rhymes and I’ll take them, take them and leave nothing behind/ I’m a soul-sucking sociopath: I take what I want and leave the rest out to dry/ Come feed me, my lovers, Come feed me, you saints with words of bounty and don’t scarce the ink.”
    “Come, I’ll swallow you whole. Come, I’ll swallow your soul. Come, I’ll swallow.”
    “Pen the word “love”/ and you’ll be both.”
    “And it hurts it hurts it hurts/ Curses the blessing and blessing the curse/ (the only safe form of schizophrenia out there)”

    If I quote any more I’m going to be quoting the whole thing.

    I do agree that the “rubies” bit throws me a smidge. Also the line about Shakespeare “to say the least” – that’s the only bit where the rhyme smacked me upside the head and had a nametag on saying “Hi! My name is Rhyme.” I do like the Shakespeare bit in general though.

Leave a Reply

