Skip to content

Villnelle Poem/All my poems are love songs to you 5

December 9, 2011

Since I missed the last week or so, I’m posting two poems this week. This is another structured poem, this time a villnelle.  The title is indeed a reference to a song what appears in both King Lear and Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare.  Enjoy and tell me what you think!  This probably needs a good amount of work.

Tell me where is fancy bred?

there shall be no more lies

cloak and dagger must be stopped

my eyes will fade before I end

 

You are the key to all happy times

My fluster as I say this cannot be topped

my eyes will fade before I end

 

You usurp my less-than-sane mind

the knot twist of bliss can’t be lobbed off

there shall be no more lies

 

you are the source of all my silly rhymes

all other kings have simply flopped

there shall be no more lies

my eyes will fade before I end.

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

