Skip to content

Pen Pals Poem

March 11, 2012

Hello! It’s been awhile, sorry.  Life got a little hectic.  But here’s a poem I came up with this morning.  For those unfamiliar with Christianity, the italicized lines are from a classic child’s bedtime prayer.  I learned it in a Catholic context, but I’m unsure if other Protestant religions teach it as well.

Pen Pals

Now I lay me down to sleep,

 

fingertips touch the letter, reach in, gently pull the glowing squiggles out

 

I pray the Lord my soul to keep

 

the soft sentence chord runs between fingers, silks down wrists, whorls into thumbprints

go under skin, hum and breathe there, buzz and laugh into the white noise of every existence

 

if I should die before I wake

 

wrap more words around like a blanket in the night, whispers, dreams, comforts to sing the morning light

 

I pray the Lord my soul to take

 

every letter a new dawn, be safe and know that I love you

 

God bless:

From → Poetry

One Comment
  1. Ooh, lovely and very calming and sweet. I’ve definitely heard the prayer before – I’m not sure where, but the lines are very familiar. Really like this bit:

    “the soft sentence chord runs between fingers, silks down wrists, whorls into thumbprints

    go under skin, hum and breathe there, buzz and laugh into the white noise of every existence”

    Lovely as usual. 🙂

Leave a Reply

