Skip to content

Monk Search part 2!

July 17, 2012

As I said in the previous post, my monk search is a bit stagnant. But I’m having ideas now, which is more than I was having before. I’ve been reading a lot of books lately, mostly because a certain someone codenamed the Invisible Ninja Cat took me to three bookstores. THREE. I was very, very happy. And she gave me some excellent recommendations that are getting me into the medieval groove.

And that brings us to this post’s purpose. The game, my readers. The game of exactly how insane is Natalie. I call it the Insanity Litmus Test. Because I use it on other people’s shenanigans, not just my own. Anywaddle, here’s my altered thesis story idea:

First, we widdle the monks down to two. Because I couldn’t handle three of them at once for this sort of thing. I’m thinking of combining Connall and Caibre because their personalities (and names) are the most similar. So we have two monks. They do the same deal where they escape their Irish monastery for the white martyrdom (of exile). They meet King Alfred via Mary the-village-girl-who-I-swear-I-will-complicate and are taken with him to a) teach him about Irish monastic systems and b) help locate the Vikings so then Alfred’s forces can squash them. They aren’t very happy about point b and Mary somehow comes with and mucks things up between Caibre/Connall and Eanna. Eanna has increasingly bizarre visions, somebody is after the king with a bottle of poison, and the monks being the foreigners are suspected. They get called into the case because they’re handy with plants. Somewhere amongst all these events a pagan-magic-ritual-curse-thing-that-I-will-most-likely-make-up-after-doing-extensive-research-through-the-Invisible-Ninja-Cat’s-books happens and binds Connall/Caibre and Eanna together. Please someone tell me if that would be offensive to modern pagan culture because I need a plot device to make this happen and I’m an author I can make another source for magic if the reader wishes. THAT IS PART 1. It should probably be its own book…maybe? Maybe.

Part 2 will commence roughly like…750ish years later? Yeah, Part 1 will mostly likely be a spectacularly ugly cliff hanger and the mystery will be slightly simplistic. And Connall/Caibre and Eanna will either die together or retire to a monastry to make books and glass windows and have lots of metaphorical monk babies at last. ANYWAY, Part 2 will be set in most likely the 1590s because I’ll be damned if I don’t write a Shakespeare-era book once in my life. At first, the reader won’t know what the bat guano is going on. I’m telling you this so when you pick up this book because you vaguely remember reading read that blog post about it instead of ingesting that horrid piece of fruitcake your aunt is making you eat, you won’t get frustrated. Anyway, it will seem like a whole new story. New intrigue, new setting, new supporting characters. BUT the main characters, you’ll come to realize, are the same. It’s still Connall/Caibre and Eanna, but not as monks, not entirely the same people. Like a timelord. They’ve regenerated! Kind of. This one will probably read more like a love story and I’ll gender-swap one of them, most likely Eanna. Throughout this part, the Eanna character will come to realize she’s re-incarnated and most loose ends in the last part will be solved. I may leave one or two, for evil purposes.

Now, that seems relatively normal doesn’t it? Maybe? Well, here’s the kicker. I want to continue. All the time periods I’m fascinated with I would write a book part and these two would appear. Not entirely the same, but the same characters nonetheless. It would be like creating parallel universes. There’s early medieval!Eanna and then there’s Victorian!Eanna or even modern day!Eanna. Each would have to be different somewhat–like the gender change in Part 2. Ideally, I would like their relationships to change too: as monks, they are brothers, as Elizabethans,  they are lovers, in the modern times they are friends, in the Enlightenment they are enemies, once they miss each other entirely. The different time schemes could be very brief: during World War I, their eyes meet for a second before they climb up and out of the trenches, hands shaking in the loose dirt, standing straight and taking one step before falling earthward again, blood spurting and eyes going black, the other running only a few more steps before being silenced. The parts I’m more iffy about is changing their ages, having one older than the other, and thus creating a more parent-child bond. No incest, I swear. Does bad things for evolution. If I took a supernatural route, heck, one could haunt the other’s home. I don’t know…I like the idea of them being together, of getting wisps of each other through time. Being bound.

Yeah, yeah, crack open the Freud and psychoanalyze that one. I have separation anxiety and childhood trauma and blah, blah, blah, I read that book. Laugh all you want. When you’re done, put in the comments how bad of a book idea this is, how I’m totally bonkers, that you’d get bored of the same two characters all the time, or if this has already been done. Or how awesome you think it is. I would like that. Or criticism. Criticism and cake are equally appreciated.

From → Thesis

One Comment
  1. Oooh, this sounds awesome. Now I understand those comments about parallel universes and reincarnation and stuff. Yay monkly timelords!! I’m glad the bookstore visits helped. 😀

    As for the pagan stuff, I don’t think one individual cursing someone would be inherently insulting. The basic law is “an it harm none, do as ye will,” along with the threefold law, so that individual would have to be ignoring that law. An apprentice or relative who tried to dissuade the individual not to curse someone on that basis would be a good way to acknowledge the law. Or a handy branch falling on the curser’s head, dismissed by said apprentice as the threefold law coming to bear – the monks would still be cursed, though. I’m also guessing the cursing from Ellen in Pillars of the Earth is at least reasonably time-accurate, as well, if you need a source for that.

    Incidentally, maybe having a painful childhood could change one character or the other in one scenario – you DID mention Freud. Ooh, maybe one as the other’s shrink, in modern? You could go so many directions with this, it’s not even funny. 😀

Leave a Reply

