Skip to content

And I will eat books for a living and it will be my living and I will call it The Bound Chronicles

September 23, 2012

Because yes.

Anyway, for those of you who potentially missed the last blog post(s), I’m back at college and the Natalie-writes-a-novel-as-her-senior-thesis train has slowed down somewhat. But never fear because the due date is near(ish) and I have a plan!

First of all, work scheldule. Since I’m doing Anglo-Saxon historical fiction, I have plotted out all the things I need to research chapter by chapter. My plan is that every thesis seminar I’m being workshopped to have at least 2 chapters done. My research load obviously lessons as I go. It’ll probably also mean that I have to go back and add details that I hadn’t researched yet at the time of writing. At this point in time, I have all the books I need for chapters 1 and 2. Chapter 1 is more or less written in my head and I just need to get it down, adding the historical details as I go.

For those interested, research topics for the Prologue, Chapter 1, and Chapter 2 are as follows: Irish monastic dynamics, monastic daily life/dinner, beliefs/type of order, homosexuality in this age, Saxons investigating Ireland, and Irish aristocracy joining monasteries, the founding of Clonmacnoise (the monks’ home monastery), ancient Celtic religion, Irish village dynamics (dress, food, family relationships, skills present), Celtic relationships to Christianity/monastery), manuscript illumination, life in an Anglo-Saxon town, role of women, building methods, and the role of the reeve.

So basically the first couple chapters chronicle the monks ditching Clonmacnoise and boating it to Cornwall. It sounds like a lot, but it’s really just life in an Irish monastery, life in a Celtic-Christain village, and life in an Anglo-Saxon town. I’ve got multiple books that outline it. It’s going to be fun. =D

Besides working on this specific novel (which really needs a title at this point. I mean really now. Somebody suggest something. The Invisible Ninja Cat has suggested Operation Sharp Cheese), I’ve been outlining the series in general. At this point, I have 6 books planned, with the monks being reincarnated eight times. There’s The Anglo-Saxon Story, The Almost Stories, The High Medieval Story, The Elizabethan Renaissance Story, The Victorian Story, The Roaring 20s Story, and The Last Story (modern day). The Almost Stories will only be referenced. I have some plot ideas for all of them but only general ones for The High Medieval and Victorian. Give me some time. The 20s one might take place in Switzerland and the Last will take place in the US of A.

Looking at all this, I now realize this series is going to be a loooonnngggg project and my tribute to my history studies. I’ll probably be able to write in any historical period I want afterwards, but be so exhausted that I won’t touch it until I’ve slept a month. Then again, I was recently in Barnes and Noble trying to find maps of England and Ireland and was ridiculously excited/ahead of myself imagining my book in the story, maybe some dinky paperback, but still there. Like the ones that are really long, but end up in book vending machines and on trips to the beach and whose binding and pages soak up salt air until they start falling out. Who knows. Maybe it’ll be a fancy hardback. Maybe it’ll be a movie. Maybe it’ll just be my book.

From → Thesis

2 Comments
  1. I’d like to suggest the title The Surprising Adventures of Sir Digby Chicken Caesar, but I fear it may already be taken.

    • LOL. Unfortunately, that is already taken and so far my characters are not gin-soaked delusion detectives. But that would be hilarious.

Leave a Reply

